Dragonball Z:
Legend of the Great Son Goku

Ultra charge:
When charging, press Up or Down to switch to the Green Menu, depending on which direction is faster to reach. Start charging when on the Green Menu and it should charge fast


Player's Guide

Dragon Ball Z: The Legend of Great Son Gokou F.A.Q.

Table of Contents
1. Basic Game Play / Action / Damage
2. Advanced Game Play / Central Stances / Advanced Stances
3. Special Moves
4. Credits

1. Basic Game Play
The Legend of Son Gokou is made up of 7 battles between Gokou's greatest enemies. Each battle has several stages in it. And each stage has two main portions of the game, which I have dubbed the action and damage, and is made up of several stages. Thus, the entire game looks like this:

7 Battles > Stages > Action > Damage

The beginning of each stage starts with the action portion. During the action portion, the screen is made up into several parts. ¾ of the screen is the field. This is where the action takes place. Gokou and his enemy will appear here. The remaining ¼ is divided into many sections. I will describe each section:

KI Bar: This is the long bluish/green bar. You and your enemy have one. This tells you how much KI, or power, you have. Central Stance: In the center of the screen, you will see a box. This tells you what your central stance is. Picture: You and your enemy have one. This tells you weather or not you are charging up your KI or not. Advanced Stance: You and your enemy have one. This is directly under your and your enemies' picture. This tells your what your advanced stance is.

Life Bar: You and your enemy have one. It is by your face. It tells how much actual life you have. It is a double life bar, when the yellow part is gone, a red part is still there, and when the red part is gone, the battle is over.

Action Life Bar: You and your enemies' life bar are connected. Your life is the orange bar and your enemies' life bar is the blue one. Every time you receive an attack, your life bar goes down, while your enemies' goes up. Like wise, every time you attack successfully, your life bar goes up, while your enemies goes down.

The action portion is finished when one person's action life bar is completely empty. For the most part, your controls will remain the same through out the entire game. They are:

  • Right: Advance. Pressing right will always make you move towards your enemy, despite what direction you are facing.
  • Left: Retreat. Like pressing right, pressing left will always make you move away from your enemy, despite what direction you are facing.
  • Up/Down: Change Advanced stance.

I: This will make you attack. You and your enemy must be on the same plain (ex. Both in background, and in air) and you must be in the still central stance.II: This will always make you block. You cannot move when blocking. I + II: this will make you charge up your KI. You cannot move when charging up your KI.

These controls are for the most part accurate, but are not set in stone. It is a wise idea to keep your KI up while in the action portion, because it will be carried with you to the Damage portion. When the Action Portion is over, you will move onto the Damage portion.

Depending on whether or not you won the action portion; the damage portion will be different. If you won, you will take the offensive. If you lost, you will take the defensive.

This means you actually deal damage. First you will choose your central stance, then your advance stance. Afterwards, you will choose how much of your KI to put into your attack.

This means you are going to get damage. All you can choose is how much KI to put into the block. HINT: unless you were in the defensive advanced stance, never put any KI into your block, as it will always fail.


2. Advanced Game Play
Central Stance: During the Action portion, you will see different Katana characters in
the Central Stance box. They are:

  • Still:
  • Advance:
  • Defense: It looks like a box.

Advanced stance:
This is the really important part of the action portion of the game. Depending on your central stance, different special moves will be enabled in both the Action on Damage portions. They are color coded, so it is easier to remember them. They are:

  • Red: Attack Advance Stance.
  • Blue: KI Advance Stance (this is available only during the DBZ portion of the game).
  • Green: KI Charge Advance Stance.
  • Black: Defense Advance Stance.


3. Special Moves
Each Stance has his own special Moves. They are:

  • Red: This lets you attack the best. Blocking will take less damage, attacking does average amount, but charging KI does little.
  • Blue: This lets you shoot KI blast that do massive damage, but use up a ton of KI. You cannot block nor charge in this stance.
  • Green: this stance lets you charge really well. It goes around 3X as fast as the red mode, But you can't attack and blocking isn't that good.
  • Black: This mode let you take little damage from attacks, and no damage
    from KI Blasts. Drawbacks are no attacking and it uses up KI to block.

Also, in the Damage portion, certain combonations will yield certain


This is a model of the Damage mode attack selector. The numbers represent the Center Stances, the letters represent the advanced stances, and the % represents how much KI to put into the attack. Here are some moves. I will post more as I find them:

  • Central
  • Stance
  • Advance
  • Stance
  • KI %
  • English Name
  • Game Name


4. Credits:
Me, Gabriel Morales. I spent time figuring out all this, because I had no help. Cooljerk@n2everything.com. Is anything incorrect? Please, drop me a line!